Go Naked Nutrition



The Party Dish

Just recently was my brother’s 30th birthday. He had a family party over at his place to mark this historic event. Other than making me feel old (since I am his “big” sister) we had a great time. When we have an event we invite the whole family. There have been Christmas’ at my place with 35 people at them. And every year now we grow in numbers. We are so blessed to have a really close family. I was listening to someone comment on fighting that goes on at their functions. In our case there really isn’t any of that. Everyone gets along, however unbelievable that is.

Not too long ago I had an event at my house and for part of the side dishes I made this wonderful Asian Noodle Salad. I had found it online as part of my introduction to Pinterest. This recipe introduced me to the pain of cooking with hot peppers. When I say pain, yes I really mean it. Those peppers were so hot that I actually burnt my skin, now I wear gloves.

I had to tweak this recipe to make it gluten free and play with some of the amounts. This salad has become a staple at events in our family. It’s so full of veggies that the noodles are almost an afterthought. My advice is to make the salad at least an hour before serving and toss it all together so it can sit in the dressing, and become “fall on the floor yummy”!

*recipe based on the Asian Noodle Salad found at  The Pioneer Woman.

THE MOST AMAZING ASIAN NOODLE SALAD

SALAD INGREDIENTS:

1 package gluten free spaghetti noodles, Cooked, Rinsed, And Cooled

1/2 head Sliced Napa Cabbage, Or More To Taste

1/4 head Sliced Purple Cabbage, Or More To Taste

1/2 bag Baby Spinach, Or More To Taste

1 whole Yellow Bell Pepper, Sliced Thin

1 whole Orange Bell Pepper, Thinly Sliced

Chopped Cilantro, Up To 1 Bunch ( But I prefer ¼ cup), To Taste

3 whole Scallions, Sliced

1.5 whole Cucumbers Peeled And Sliced

1 package (about 10 Oz.) Whole Cashews, Lightly Toasted In Skillet

FOR THE DRESSING:

1 whole Lime, Juiced

8 Tablespoons Olive Oil

8 Tablespoons Soy Sauce

2 Tablespoons (up To 3 Tablespoons) Sesame Oil

1/3 cup Brown Sugar

3 Tablespoons Fresh Ginger Chopped

2 cloves Garlic, Chopped

2 whole Hot Peppers Or Jalapenos, Chopped

PREPARATION INSTRUCTIONS

Mix salad ingredients together. Whisk dressing ingredients together and pour over salad. Mix with tongs or hands and serve on a platter.

Note: dressing keeps for up to three days before serving.


Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Andrea says:

    I was lucky enough to sample this delicious dish at one of our family events. It was full of flavour and simply amazing. Thanks for posting this recipe!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 10 months ago


Leave a comment