Go Naked Nutrition



My Kids Favourite Meatballs

My kids do not agree on much. One eats almost anything. Another almost nothing at dinner. One hates berries and the others love anything sweet. It’s hard to cook a meal that all of them sit and eat without complaint. For my son that will not eat anything that is not pre packaged. In our house that makes it a little difficult to feed him. Since we try not to have much processed food in our home. I tell you though they can be stubborn. I had our dear son once stage a days long strike until I gave him what he wanted. All he would eat was breakfast and then nothing. As a parent it was hard not to give in. But, there is only so many times I can allow him to eat noodles with butter and parmesan cheese.

We were at my Brother in law’s house and they had made a meal that my son would not touch. And I mean that literally! I think I have problems with my son. My nephew won’t eat certain foods if they are on the table with other foods. They said no problem. Their kids ( I think all kids are like this) are the same way and no one can ever agree. They heated up some leftovers and he ate it! He ate it all! And it didn’t come from a can! I almost thought aliens took over my son’s body. Strangely enough my older daughter’s mouth was watering over it as well. I’ve been making this dish for years now and now with the little one, she eats it too.

It feels great to have foods that everyone will eat. We went home that night with the recipe. I have no idea where it came from but I can tell you it is really good. I’ve had to change it slightly to make it gluten free. It’s not the healthiest dish (since the only vegetables in it are onions and garlic). I like to serve it with a nice salad on the side. Also a great thing is this meal freezes really well. I use the aluminum foil containers from the Dollar Store and use the lid to write what is inside. I freeze each container with one serving of meatballs and one serving of rice. Perfect for lunches or dinner when you have no idea what to eat.

 

Honey Garlic Meatballs

 

Sauce

¾ cup ketchup

3 tbsp gluten free soya sauce

½ cup honey

3 cloves garlic – minced

2 tbsp butter

 

Meatballs

1 lb ground beef

1 lb ground pork

1 cup minced onion

1 clove minced garlic

1 egg

 

Directions

Melt the butter in a large pan over medium heat. Add garlic, cook until fragrant, add all other sauce ingredients. Bring to a boil, then decrease heat and allow to simmer 15 minutes while you prepare meatballs.

 

In a bowl combine ground pork and beef. Add minced onion, garlic and egg. Combine with a fork (i just use my hands, it’s really much easier). Form into balls approx the size of a heaping tablespoon. * You can make your meatballs smaller or larger depending on your preference.

Add meatballs to simmering sauce.Increase heat to medium low.  Allow to cook approximately 20 minutes, stirring occasionally (until meatballs are cooked through).

Serve over rice


Leave a comment