Go Naked Nutrition



Pink slime in your hamburger

(Photo from Documentary Lovers http://www.documentarylovers.com)

Let me just start out by saying that I have tremendous amounts of respect for Jamie Oliver. I have been watching his shows on the Food Network for the past few years and I have been following him on his website. He is a visionary who is using his status to push the government and the food companies to really question what is good for the pocket book versus what is good for our bodies. He is one of my real food heroes. His show taught me how real food can be prepared without having to be dependent on all the processed goods that I had used in the past.

I have included a demonstration (click here to view) Jamie Oliver held to show people what they are really consuming when they eat ground meat. Especially the ground meat in hamburgers, etc… It really is truly disgusting. They use a mix of inedible beef trimmings that we would find in dog food, or chicken feed. They then mix it with ammonia and water to kill the bacteria. This mixture can then be added to ground beef without labelling it. All because the government says it’s safe. I think most of us had an idea about the grade of meat that was included into a McDonald’s burger (or shall we say that no one really believed that it was ever 100% Beef). However, have you ever thought about what could be added to the meat that you buy in the grocery store.

I was sadly appalled when the XL Foods scandal was in full swing to learn that my favourite butcher was buying their meat from them. It was awful. I never imagined that even my local butcher was buying from the same place as Metro and all the rest. It taught me that you really need to be careful and ask the right questions about where the food you are buying actually comes from. To this day I have noticed that over time the amount of water in the meat has increased. Have you noticed steak bought from certain retailers is impossible to fry. The water content is so high that as it is released from the meat it doesn’t just evaporate immediately but fills the pan and poaches your food. That should not happen.

Sorry for the rant but I’m scared for my families health. If we know this, how much is out there that we haven’t found out yet. Jamie Oliver is doing his best to raise awareness. It’s our turn to do the same.

Scary…


Leave a comment